Milestones: Plas y Brenin

This is part ten of a series of posts all about the turning points in my climbing career. From single moves to huge time spans, these are the events that shaped me into the climber and person i am today. 

I’ll be posting a new one every few days so keep an eye on the blog for the latest or, if not, they will appear in one beast of an article at the end of the series. Feel free to comment and let me know of some of your own highlights, i’d greatly enjoy hearing some of your own. 

Getting the Job at Plas y Brenin

The Bull's Eye Boulder - one of many i would not have discovered if not for my time at PYB
The Bull’s Eye Boulder – one of many i would not have discovered if not for my time at PYB

After six years at Joe Brown’s, it had long been time to move on but North Wales being as it is, there was nowhere to go. I’d tried for countless reps jobs with most manufacturers, was reluctant to take a sideways step to another shop (none of which suited me as well) and even tried applying for the police force, again to no avail. Stuck in a rut, feeling low and depressed, i was in need of a change.

I’d met lots of people through my time in the shop and had been putting the feelers out for quite some time to try and find the next thing. I’m not sure if it was irony that it was Ann Dwyer – wife of Ken, a good friend and colleague at the shop before he sadly passed away – who told me of a storemans job going at the nearby Plas y Brenin.

Joe’s had moved me out of my beloved shop in Capel Curig and down in Llanberis to take care of the web orders. The Brenin would take me back to Capel and return my commute; the best commute in the world. It fit the bill perfectly and i’d known the storemen there for years, as well as plenty of the staff.

An early attempt on Going Down On An Elephant, with poor foot beta
An early attempt on Going Down On An Elephant, with poor foot beta

In hindsight, i was lucky: Rob Spencer called me in for a chat and i was expecting info about the job, rather than an interview. At one point, he asked about my outdoor experience and i waved, sniffed and said, “yeah, don’t worry about it”! The look he gave was great and i certainly wouldn’t have done that if i’d known this was make or break! Even less so if i realised what i might be missing out on.

Thankfully, he offered me the job. I began at the end of November 2014 and settled in quickly. I started setting routes in the wall, started getting out more, even started searching the forest opposite for new lines.

Looking at the best commute in the world
Looking at the best commute in the world

Suddenly the whole scene around me changed. I’d found somewhere i fit in, found somewhere i was more myself and it started to show in my psyche levels. I was in the wall more, in the gym, training indoors, out on the boulders whenever i could. The grades began to tumble as the psyche got higher and higher.

I’ve always said you spend more time at work than you do anywhere else so you have a choice: try and be there as little as possible (and accept potentially being miserable when you are) or make sure you find a job where you’re happy to be. I’ve managed to find the latter.

I’ll not stay forever, i’m sure, no-one will and 40 years in stores might lose it’s edge along the way. But when i do leave, to go and do whatever and look back at my time it will undoubtedly be with fondness. There was a time at Joe Brown’s where i actively wanted to go to work, the best couple of years i’ve had. My tenure at Plas y Brenin, i’m sure, will be just the same.

Just some of the crew that have accompanied me on many trips since i began at PYB
Just some of the crew that have accompanied me on many trips since i began at PYB

 

One thought on “Milestones: Plas y Brenin”

Leave a Reply

